First Blood

The season kicked off 2 weeks ago I have not been able to get out near as much as what I would like but I have managed a few sittings.

I have seen quiet a few younger bucks and had 1 mature buck show up Saturday night, sadly he has already broken off his entire left side.

I did have some excitement the other evening, around 30 minutes after my feeder went off, I heard something heading my way.  I stood up grabbed my bow and got ready.

I was really hoping to have a mature buck or doe show up but I will not complain about having a pig show up. 

I let the little guy feed around for a few minutes it was getting dark so I went ahead and decided to take him, he was 22yards when I took the shot, everything felt good being my first shot of the year I was glad to get something on the ground and build a little confidence.

He went about 80 yards, I did not make the best shot and hit him a few inches back of where i really wanted to hit him but managed to take out both lungs.  I used my elite Gt-500 and a 125g Slick Trick Mag, this was my first time trying that broadhead and I was very happy with the results. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Archery

Leave a comment