Sitka Gear: Mountain vs. Ascent Pants

A few weeks ago this was sitting on the door step, I have been pre-occupied chasing whitetail deer but here a first look at one of the items inside.

In 2010 Sitka Gear introduced the Mountain Pant which they say takes the Ascent pant to the next level.  Well does it?

My first experience with Sitka Started back in 2007, I have owned the original Mountain pant, original 90% pant, ascent pant and now the new Mountain Pant.

I feel both the new Mountain pant and ascent pant are vastly superior to the original and since the 90% are much heavier and warmer I will exclude both of those pants from the discussion.

General similarities

Both of these pants share a similar fabric, it is light dries quick and 4 way stretchable.  Share in the same optifade open country camo pattern.  You will notice that the new 2010 is lighter in color than previous years.  It is not a huge difference but it does exist.

The new 2010 is on top of the 2009

Pros

The mountain pants have removable knee pads which is great for stalking and closing in on game, also when not in place you have a double layer of fabric.

Sizing– this doesn’t apply to the 2010 ascent pants but I sure am glad sitka went to 2in waist increments and got away from the s.m.l and xl sizing. 

Built in belt, a very simple effective belt is built into the pants, it is low profile to ride under a pack, my only concerns are durability and holding up in extremes as the buckle is a plastic of some sorts.

Front pocket reinforcement–Like many I carry a small pocket knife with a clip and I do not like how it rides or the ease of use on my current ascent pants, Thanks for the tap for a knife on the mountain pants.

Pockets- both pockets have small built-in zipper compartments compared to just the right side of the ascent

Cons

Cargo pocket closures not sure how this is going to hold up and also have security concerns.  While it is quiet it does not seem to give a good secure hold and keep the pockets closed

Not Sure

I am not sure about this but the Mountain pant lacks side zippers at the bottom of the pant.  I go back and forth, for one you are going to have to remove your boots to take these on and off, but that makes the pant lighter and removes the extra metal and tabs from the bottom of the pant making them more comfortable.

Also, I try and get all the use out of my gear as i can, in Florida i hunt in rubber boots and a pant lacking zippers and tabs is a whole lot more comfortable than those that have them, while i know neither of these pants were really designed with this in mind it is nice to know that the mountain pants can see use both in the southern whitetail woods as well as out in the western mountains.

Overall I am very impressed with the new mountain pants, I believe sitka did what it set out to do and improved upon an already great pant.   These to me are the go to backcountry pant.  I would spend the extra money and get the mountain over the ascent every day of the week.  The built-in belt, removable knee pads, added zipper pocket are worth it, plus i like the lack of zippers down the leg.  To me less is more.

I am going to pick up a pair of the optifade forest Ascent pants as i think these with a core shirt are going to be just the ticket for early season florida hunting along with spring turkey hunting.  I believe each has their place but if you are heading out west do your self a favor and take a look at the Sitka Mountain Pant.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gear

Leave a comment